Links to Additional Resources

Louisiana State Archives
The Louisiana State Archives, a division of the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office, is mandated to identify, to collect, to preserve, to maintain and to make available those records and artifacts that enhance our endeavors to understand the dynamics and nuances of our state’s remarkable history.

East Baton Rouge Parish Library, Main Library
The East Baton Rouge Parish Library Genealogy Collection focuses on southern states.

National Archives
Use the resources at the National Archives to explore your family’s ancestry.

Archdiocese of New Orleans
The Archdiocese of New Orleans encompasses 8 civil parishes: Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. John the Baptist, St. Tammany and Washington.

Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux
The Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux encompasses the civil parishes of Lafourche and Terrebonne.

Diocese of Lafayette
The Diocese of Lafayette encompasses 9 civil parishes: Evangeline, St. Landry, Acadia, Lafayette, St. Martin, Vermilion, Iberia, St. Mary and St. Martin.

Diocese of Lake Charles
The Diocese of Lake Charles encompasses 5 civil parishes: Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron and Jefferson Davis.

Diocese of Alexandria
The Diocese of Alexandria encompasses 13 civil parishes: Natchitoches, Winn, Caldwell, Franklin, Madison, Vernon, Rapides, Grant, LaSalle, Catahoula, Tensas, Concordia and Avoyelles.

Diocese of Shreveport

The Diocese of Shreveport encompasses 16 civil parishes: Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, East Carroll, Jackson, Lincoln, Morehouse, Ouachita, Red River, Richland, Sabine, Union, Webster and West Carroll.